Spread The Nerd
© STN 2019

Team

Spread the Nerd brings together a multidisciplinary team from a variety of media sectors. Everyone here gets excited about research, and that’s ideal for designing compelling formats! We’ll handpick the right team members for your project.

Johanna Barnbeck is an expert in science communication and format development. Having trained as a culture analyst and artistic researcher, she produces creative concepts and oversees the production process. She has served as a jury member for the Fast Forward Science film prize, and she delivers seminars on visual science communication at Germany’s National Institute for Science Communication (NaWik). She’s passionate about using modern communication to work in the areas of tension between theory and praxis.

Wim Dijksterhuis is an expert in motion design and visualization. Having trained in film studies and creative direction, he distils complex information into succinct and expressive visual formats. Wim’s clients in this area include the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, the Van Abbe Museum Eindhoven, and DutchCulture. He’s passionate about using visual aids to make research easy to understand.

Max Dorando is an expert in organizational consulting, strategy, and change processes. Having trained in economics and business education, he specializes in consulting for universities. Max is a cofounder of ConsultContor, and a trainer, coach, and supervisor (DGSv).  He’s passionate about working with clients to develop and implement longterm strategies.

Juri Hiensch is an expert in design and web development. Having trained in photography, he offers a wide range of creative skills. In addition to programming, he is involved in design and visual language. He’s passionate about the idea that life involves both learning and failure, and that you can always create and learn something new from both.

Grace Fox is an expert in grant applications and translation. She has worked in science publishing since 2005, both on the editorial side (J Med Chem, Anal Bioanal Chem, Biosens Bioelectron) and with authors worldwide. She also offers support with grant applications (NIH, ERC). She’s passionate about finding simple language for complex research, and about applying cognitive principles to science communication.

Dr. Petra Krimphove is an expert in editorial work and presenting scientific topics to a broad readership. Having trained in literary studies, she has worked for many years as a freelance journalist in Germany (and occasionally in the US) for media organizations, grant foundations, and other science organizations. In addition, she produces, edits, proofreads, and translates texts from English to German (e.g. Wissenschaft im Dialog, Forschungsfelder (BMEL-Magazin), Teilchenphysik.ch, swissinfo.ch, Aktive Bürgerschaft). She’s passionate about finding the answers to those research questions that one should always find at the start of a good text.

Filip Mertens is an expert in a variety of programming languages, and in linking technologies with concepts. A born tinkerer, he gets excited about any kind of technical challenge for which there are no existing solutions. He’s passionate about the way that research can gradually make the world a better place, and how communication and understanding are at the forefront of this process.

Rolf Schulten is an expert in visual science communication. Having trained in photography, he produces portraits and event photos, and uses his camera to document people at work and in their world. He’s passionate about capturing complex processes with clear pictures.

André Wunstorf is an expert in photography. Having trained in literary studies and photography, he’s always on the lookout for compelling photos, whether that’s symbolic still lifes in the studio or on-location portraits of the people behind the research. André’s clients in this area include the TAZ newspaper, the Fraunhofer Institute, Berliner Festspiele, VW, and Humboldt University. He’s passionate about finding concrete images for abstract content.

Gabi Wuttke is an expert in podcasts. Having trained in German language and literary studies and journalism, she’s always on the lookout for exciting stories. Whether in podcasts or during her regular appearances on national radio station Deutschlandfunk Kultur, she makes complex science easy for radio listeners to understand. She’s passionate about getting down to the deepest layers of a great story.

Contact

Spread the Nerd
Agency for Science Communication
and Format Development

Ohlauer Str. 5-11
10999 Berlin
Germany

+49 (0)30 921 029 890
hello@spreadthenerd.net

Spread The Nerd
© STN 2019
Anfang
Ende

Team

Spread the Nerd vereint ein multidisziplinäres Team aus den verschiedensten Medienbereichen. Forschung finden hier alle spannend – beste Voraussetzung, um aussagekräftige Formate zu entwerfen! Wir stellen immer passend zu Ihrem Projekt das beste Team zusammen.

Johanna Barnbeck ist Expertin für Wissenschaftskommunikation und Formatentwicklung. Als ausgebildete Kulturanalytikerin und künstlerische Forscherin erstellt sie kreative Konzepte und überblickt die Produktionsprozesse. Sie ist in der Jury für den Fast Forward Science Filmpreis und gibt am NaWik Seminare zu visueller Wissenschaftskommunikation. Es fasziniert sie, am Spannungsfeld zwischen Theorie und Praxis zu arbeiten und dabei die Möglichkeiten der modernen Kommunikation einzusetzen.

Wim Dijksterhuis ist Experte für Motion Design und Visualisierung. Als studierter Filmwissenschaftler und Creative Director arbeitet er komplexe Informationen in kurzen visuellen Formaten auf und verleiht ihnen so Ausdruck. Wim hat dabei schon für Kunden wie das Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, das Van Abbe Museum Eindhoven und DutchCulture gearbeitet. Es fasziniert ihn, mit visuellen Handgriffen Forschung verständlich aufzuarbeiten.

Max Dorando ist Experte für Organisationsberatung, Strategie und Veränderungsprozesse. Als studierter Volkswirt und Wirtschaftspädagoge ist er spezialisiert auf die Beratung an Hochschulen. Er ist Mitbegründer von ConsultContor, sowie Trainer, Coach, Supervisor (DGSv). Es fasziniert ihn, gemeinsam mit Kunden eine langfristige Strategie zu entwickeln und umzusetzen.

Juri Hiensch ist Experte für Design und Webentwicklung. Als ausgebildeter Fotograf deckt er eine ganze Bandbreite an kreativen Skills ab. Er programmiert und beschäftigt sich darüber hinaus mit Design und Bildsprache. Es fasziniert ihn, dass das Leben gleichermaßen aus Lernen und Scheitern besteht und man daraus wieder Neues lernt und erschafft.

Grace Fox ist Expertin für Anträge und Übersetzungen. Als ausgebildete Psychologin arbeitet sie seit 2005 im wissenschaftlichen Verlagswesen sowohl redaktionell (J Med Chem, Anal Bioanal Chem, Biosens Bioelectron) als auch direkt mit Autoren aus aller Welt. Zudem unterstützt sie bei Fördergeldanträgen (NIH, ERC). Es fasziniert sie, die passende Sprache für komplexe Wissenschaft zu finden und kognitive Prinzipien auf die Wissenschaftskommunikation anzuwenden.

Dr. Petra Krimphove ist Expertin für redaktionelle Arbeit. Als promovierte Literaturwissenschaftlerin arbeitet sie seit vielen Jahren als freie Journalistin in Deutschland (und zwischenzeitlich den USA) für Medien, Stiftungen und Organisationen über Wissenschaftsthemen und weiß, wie man sie einer breiten Leserschaft nahe bringt. Darüber hinaus konzipiert, redigiert und lektoriert sie und übersetzt Texte aus dem Englischen (u.a. Wissenschaft im Dialog, Forschungsfelder (BMEL-Magazin), Teilchenphysik.ch, swissinfo.ch, Aktive Bürgerschaft). Es fasziniert sie, Antworten auf die vielen Fragen zu finden, die am Anfang eines jeden guten Textes stehen und die die Wissenschaft aufwirft.

Filip ist Experte für das Verknüpfen von Technologien mit Konzepten und für die unterschiedlichsten Programmiersprachen. Als geborener Tinkerer („Bastler“) freut er sich über jede technische Herausforderung für die es noch keine vorgefertigte Lösung gibt. Es fasziniert ihn, wie Forschung es vermag die Welt schrittweise zu verbessern und um dies zu erreichen Kommunikation und Verständigung in den Vordergrund zu rücken.

Rolf Schulten ist Experte für visuelle Wissenschaftskommunikation. Als ausgebildeter Fotograf erstellt er Porträts sowie Veranstaltungsfotos und begleitet mit der Kamera Menschen in ihrem Umfeld und bei ihrer Arbeit. Es fasziniert ihn, komplexe Vorgänge in klaren Bildern zu dokumentieren.

André Wunstorf ist Experte für Fotografie. Als ausgebildeter Literaturwissenschaftler und Fotograf ist er immer auf der Suche nach einem guten Bild – ganz gleich ob als symbolisches Stillleben im Studio, oder in Form von Porträts on location, die die Menschen hinter der Forschung zeigen. Er arbeitet dabei bereits für eine Vielzahl von Auftraggebern, wie die TAZ, Fraunhofer, Berliner Festspiele, VW, Humboldt Universität. Es fasziniert ihn, konkrete Bilder für abstrakte Inhalte zu finden.

Gabi Wuttke ist Expertin für Podcasts. Als studierte Germanistin und ausgebildete Journalistin ist sie immer auf der Suche nach spannenden Geschichten und versucht über das Medium Radio die Komplexität der Wissenschaften verständlich zu machen. Ganz gleich ob im Podcast oder bei Deutschlandfunk Kultur, wo sie regelmässig zu hören ist. Es fasziniert sie, sich bis in die tiefsten Schichten einer Geschichte einzufinden.

Kontakt

Spread the Nerd
Agentur für Formatentwicklung
und Wissenschaftskommunikation

Johanna Barnbeck
Ohlauer Str. 5-11
10999 Berlin

+49 (0)30 921 029 890
hello@spreadthenerd.net